top of page

A Summer in Berlin

[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"></v:stroke> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"></v:f> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"></v:path> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"></o:lock> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="Picture_x0020_1" o:spid="_x0000_i1027" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:308pt;height:231pt;rotation:90;visibility:visible; mso-wrap-style:square'> <v:imagedata src="file://localhost/Users/sagerosenthal/Library/Group%20Containers/UBF8T346G9.Office/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.jpg" o:title=""></v:imagedata> </v:shape><![endif][if !vml][endif]

Me with German watermelon drink and pretzel in Potsdam

Hi everyone! My name is Amanda. As a German minor, I have always been interested in German culture and language. This summer I was offered a wonderful opportunity to study abroad in Berlin with IES. This program allowed me to live in German-speaking environment for six weeks, practicing my German language and exploring the culture of this nation, through which I developed my independence, leadership and global perspective.

[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="Picture_x0020_3" o:spid="_x0000_i1026" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:393pt; height:295pt;visibility:visible;mso-wrap-style:square'> <v:imagedata src="file://localhost/Users/sagerosenthal/Library/Group%20Containers/UBF8T346G9.Office/msoclip1/01/clip_image003.jpg" o:title=""></v:imagedata> </v:shape><![endif][if !vml][endif]

During my summer abroad, I took the Advanced German class and German art history class for six weeks at IES Berlin Study Center. I was able to practice my German daily my classmates and my German host mom. At the end of program, I was able to use German introduce my favorite artwork, favorite places in Berlin. It was so much fun! I become much more fluent in German and more confident speaking this language.

[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="Picture_x0020_4" o:spid="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:355pt;height:267pt; visibility:visible;mso-wrap-style:square'> <v:imagedata src="file://localhost/Users/sagerosenthal/Library/Group%20Containers/UBF8T346G9.Office/msoclip1/01/clip_image005.jpg" o:title=""></v:imagedata> </v:shape><![endif][if !vml][endif]

A lovely birthday breakfast at our garden

As a museum person, I really enjoyed my German art and architecture course and I have visited so many museums and galleries in Berlin. In class, we talked about the development of German art from 18th century romanticism to postmodernism. I learnt how to study the paintings and interpret them such as the structure, style, techniques and the painter’s purpose. Berlin has an abundance of museums and art galleries. I was able to use the art analytical skills I learnt in class. Moreover, I was so excited seeing the masterpieces Monk by the Sea and Wanderer above the Sea of Fog in real.

The Berlin Wall

I have gained more independence and confidence and I am very looking forward to studying or working abroad in Germany in the future. Overall, I feel really grateful for this journey and would definitely recommend everyone to explore this amazing country!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Categories
Tags
No tags yet.
Photo Gallery 
Pham Pic
philanthopy_edited
sisterhood
philanthropy
Baby Swan
Sisterhood
Dope Fam Lineage
Philanthropy
Formal 2017
Letters!
Sisters and Letters
Dance Fam
Sister Bonding
Sisters In a Tree!
bottom of page